Pork Plundering!!!

9 Aug

20130808_120114

There has been a pig-napping in Auburn!  Super Porky, the mascot of the local BBQ joint, the Flying Pig, was stolen over the weekend.  The local newspaper, local radio station, and a Sacramento TV station have all reported about Porky’s disappearance.  The owners have even placed posters around town and offered a reward for his safe return (I think they are paying in pulled pork).

Flying Pig

Flying Pig

Being a good BBQ hunter, I thought it was best for me to visit the crime scene. I stopped by during lunch to offer my investigative services and grab some lunch.  Well, ok, I just stopped by to grab some lunch, but I did ask a few questions. The Flying Pig is a family owned business that has been operating for about a year and a half.  Their menu is centered around the “Central Texas Market Style” servings of their meats: brisket, pulled pork, ribs, turkey, and polish sausage.  Market style means they sell the meat by the pound, and you can order portions ranging from a quarter of a pound to 40 pounds.  All meat comes with a serving of corn bread.  They also offer a number of sandwiches featuring their smoked meats and three sides: potato salad, coleslaw, and beans.  Lastly,   they serve three kinds of dessert:  pineapple upside-down cake, fruit cobbler and banana pudding.

Pulled Pork Lunch

Pulled Pork Lunch

In honor of Porky, I ordered some pulled pork and a side of coleslaw.  I really liked how I could order as much meat as I wanted, depending on how hungry I was.  Today I ordered ⅓ a pound, which was just right for lunch.  The meat came pre-sauced, but bottles of extra sauce are available on each table.  They only have one sauce here – a red sauce which is lightly sweet and tangy, with a bit of spice.  It was really good – I even dipped my corn bread in it!  The coleslaw is made with a chipotle aioli. At first the flavor seemed a little bland, but the heat kinda snuck up on me and by the end I was really digging it.  The best part, all of that food was just over $6 – about the cost of a fast food combo, but way better!

Rib Special

Rib Special

On the way out, I noticed that Thursdays is their rib special – half a rack for $7.49.  Why didn’t I see that before I ordered?!?!  Oh well, a reason to come back with Mr. BBQHunter.

And I will be back.  This is the best BBQ in Auburn, hands down.  And the best part, the people that own it are super friendly and do a lot for the community – its the kind of local business we like to support.  And hopefully, they’ll find their pig soon.  On the bright side, the theft has resulted in lots of free advertising, and I hope it brings them many new customers.

Leave a Reply

