Drum Smoker

11 Aug

All the home improvement projects that the wife has assigned me just isn’t enough.  So I have decided to start a new project of my own.  While looking around trying to gather the various parts I needed to make my drum smoker I stumbled across Big Poppa’s website.  After seeing how nice their stuff looks, and at a reasonable price, I decided not to use a bunch of mismatched hardware like I had originally planned and to use their much prettier stuff instead.  Now I just need to get my hands on a food grade drum.  Luckilly there is a drum supply house just down the road in Roseville if I can’t find one second hand somewhere first.

On second thought, this project looks so easy maybe I’ll have my 13 yo build it to hone his redneck fabrication skills a little.

Bigg Poppa’s Smokers Drum Smoker Kit

Drum Smoker Kit

Drum Smoker

For those who don’t care what it looks like and want to just gather some parts at the local hardware store, this is the other option.  DIY 55 gallon drum smoker

2 Responses to “Drum Smoker”

  1. George Miller August 11, 2013 at 1:34 PM #

    This will work fine in a sheltered area with no wind, but the problem with thin-wall/sheet-metal smokers is temperature control. Before I got my “Pitmaker Vault” I once spent more on charcoal than on the Brisket I was smoking using a sidebox type I got from Lowes several years ago. (That one was relegated to firepit duties only after that.)
    There are some manufacturers who use steel as thick as 1/2 inch to alleviate the heat loss problem. (The amount of fuel to just get that thing up to temperature must be huge though.)
    It won’t look pretty, but wrapping rockwool insulation around it will help.

    • allengrim August 11, 2013 at 2:26 PM #

      I’ve looked at those smokers outside of Lowes and Home Depot a dozen times, but the very reason you stated has kept me from buying one in spite of how cheap they are. The barrel wont be thick metal, but it’s still about twice the gauge as those flimsy things. I was thinking about getting something like a horse blanket to make an insulated cover I could wrap it up with when it’s cold or windy.

Leave a Reply

